top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Brotherton

5/1/2019

I relapsed today

into my old ways.

It’s been five months

since I left this pit-


I was conditioned to ignore

His words, convinced of their emptiness-

Leaving me just as empty.

I would be more

To make up for him. I was sure

If I could make the right meal

Or speak gently enough

Or wear something sexier

That he would be happy

Enough to treat me like it.


I’m not sure what made me walk away,

But I’ve spent five months trying

To figure out what I’m worth

In my independence, my singularity.

I have been failing, pining

After sweet words and squeezed thighs.


But today it happened, a shame

I thought I had forgotten.

Like when I brought Peter home from the shelter,

The way he auto-cowered at the mere flinch

Of a finger- he still does this sometimes,

A reflex.


And today your words burrowed

Through my ears, banging around pinball

Style, knocking my stomach over,

Punching holes in my brain.

Another bitch that cares

about nothing but herself

Fuckin cunt

I hate all you whores

And my reply?

I was my dog, cowering in a corner.

I’m sorry


And I am sorry

For you, but it’s not my damn job.

Mostly, I’m sorry for myself.

And I’m writing this down

As a reminder, that the next time a man calls

Me a cunt on a second date

(or a 400th)

To say “I’m sorry

But to follow it with

But you can fuck right off.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page