top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Brotherton

This poem is mostly for myself, but it is also for you.

I don’t know who I am anymore, and I mean that

In the most cheesy, that’s not my face

In the mirror way that you can think of.

I give myself pep-talks to do anything, god,

Fucking anything. I think it’s the end

That has me pressing the sabotage panic button

A la Frank Gallagher with a morphine drip.

I’ve steadily worked toward one thing- the peak,

The mountain top. Again, cheese it up here.

This is the mario kart finish line. Race over.

And then, what? Nobody tells you what happens.

I want to pump the brakes, pull my hair from its roots,

Let my dog die where he lays, scream into the ocean.


If there is a god, on which I’m undecided,

He enjoys a good show. Fuck, he better.

I have cried no less than 8 times today.

I’m not okay. Dammit why haven’t I told anyone that

I AM NOT FUCKING OKAY.

And I am telling you here and now

Because I can’t explain any of this. I’m trying

But I can’t seem to make my fingers move

The way I want them too. My brain, either.


When I write to you I’m honest.

I hope you take that as a compliment.

I won’t lie to you that you scare me, in good ways

And bad. I care about you, but I won’t

Take it further than this. Whatever this is

Right here.

Where I trust you with these little bits

Of my brain and I hope that you are well.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page