top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Brotherton

Regret, 7:32AM

Everything is blurred.

The hot breath of summer

Is just waking, but this freeway

Has been up for hours-

The same as this calling flock

Hiding in branches.


My balcony provides an overpriced

View of this morning routine,

And as I smoke with my coffee

It all starts to just blur.

The trucks and the cars

Fade into quiet, save

The handful of eager

And revving assholes.


I sit here, sipping coffee

Until the last half is cool.

I stare into the mesmerizing

Abyss of freeway & let my mind

Ramble into depths- especially reserved

For this morning meditation (prayer?).

This is the routine.


Today has broken routine.

A bright bird broke the blur,

Flew right through it to perch

Not 10ft. From my no-longer

Glazed eyes. It sat,

With that ever-in-motion

Bird head bobbing.

A small bird, think dainty

Women’s hands with feathers

That erased the cloudless

Blue sky behind them.


Vibrant red, the hue of which

Dainty women walk upon-

Melting seamlessly into a yellow

Truer than ripe lemon.

As this morning beacon bounced

Among the branches, I reached

For my phone.

Only to capture my exact moment

Of regret.- a short feathered tail,

Blurring a neon streak through

The leaves. I tarnished

Those few moments

Which should have been worship;

The flutter of wings the closing

Of a prayer, a wave goodbye.


This letter (poem?) is an apology

To the morning, in her grace.

The memory of whom

I have tainted for a grainy

Photograph.

I’ll remember this when

I delete that picture.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page