top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Brotherton

Blanket Forts: A Pantoum

I like living in my mind with you-

An escape from the intrusive rules

Telling us who and when and how.

It’s peaceful here, nuzzled into your laughter.


We can’t escape the rules, though

They’ll find us lurking here, eventually-

Drag us somewhere peaceless, muzzled

To keep us quiet from one another.


I find bits of you lurking in my brain;

I try to pluck them, never getting the root.

I’ve tried to keep quiet from you, too,

But the gnawing in my heart brings me back.


I could pluck up the courage, uproot myself,

Put it all out there to watch myself shatter.

The gnawing in my bones keeps me reality bound,

But I put my heartbreak away to frolic in dreams.


I’d put myself out there and risk the shattering

For the snort in your laughter in an instant,

Put my heart with yours, dream with you,

But I’m waiting for the break.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page