top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Brotherton

Imagining Eyes

There’s a man living above my shower.

More like a goblin, really.

He’s harmless

thus far,

Though he peers through cracks

Onto my nakedness.


The vent is dusty and spotted

With mold never cleaned.

He sits inside the vent,

His eyes bulging through spaces

In his head,

Like two blood

Oranges with slits–

Pulpy and dripping

Where there should be whites.

His blackened fingers,

Miniature and curled

With yellowing talons,

Splitting and peeling,

They wrap themselves around

The molded metal, leering

For a better look.


While I rinse and repeat

I wonder

How and what he eats, if he does.

He’s never been spotted

Outside of his vent.

He must creep out in the night

To feed

On skin cells and loose hairs

Left about the drain.

Maybe he eats the small roaches

Who crop up in the bottom of the bath,

Or maybe, he breeds them..

That seems like a gremlin thing to do.


My showers are always safe, save

The peering and sneering

And the clacking of claws.

But in the closed eyes

Under the shower stream,

I wonder

If he climbs down from his vent,

His skin scarred and bubbling

With boils ready to burst,

Patches sloughing off mid-molt,

Carefully careening into the tub

With a swiftness unexpected for

A small thing so round.


Sure to keep his long hooks

From making startling noise,

Does he enter the space with me?

Those fingertips could surely pierce

My naked flesh and leave the tub

Running red.


For now, though, I’ll shower

With gremlin attending,

For my exterminator

Doesn’t believe in gremlins.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page