top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Brotherton

Space For Rent: A Villanelle

I must be insane,

How do you learn alone?

I don’t like the space in my brain.


I need a teacher to retrain,

Show me how to cover these bones.

I’m much too bare, I must be insane.


I’m fiending, cannot abstain,

Give myself away in a drop of your cologne.

I hate this space in my brain.


This solitude I cannot sustain

In your absence, I’ll dose from the unknown.

I’m crumbling, I know I’m insane.


You left me alone with this pain

But I can still faintly hear your moan

I can’t lose you from this space in my brain.


If you ever call on me again

I’m not the girl you knew; a clone.

I let you drive me insane,

I couldn’t live in the space in my brain.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page